Pavitra's notes

As a former shopaholic

I always gave into peer pressure as a teenager. Like most teenagers, our brain's pre-frontal cortex hasn't fully developed. We are still finding our way into this complex world. Same is the case with the outfits we wear. That is literally like the first major decision we make in the morning which serves us for the rest of the day.

Growing up in a place where options were limited, my mentality was like that of a hoarder. I used to hoard every piece of outfit like its the final time I am ever going to get a chance to shop. With window shopping all day on sites like amazon, myntra, jabong and ajio, it got exhausting. But my hunger for shopping and hoarding was insatiable.

I did learn a lot in the process of not following trends and instead sticking with pieces that have a longer trending value. Like timeless classics. They usually serve well in the wardrobe department. But even for them, there is a limit to how much one can own them.

I crossed my own limit of spending on clothes. Clothes started to fall off my wardrobe and yet I couldn't stop myself from buying more clothes. It had come to such a point where I used to think "I hope there is no rat infestation in my wardrobe and if not, I am fine!"

I had no idea that shopping addiction was even a real thing. It took me to the point where my attic was stuffed for me to realized I may have a shopping addiction problem. Luckily, my sister helped me out with discarding clothes and donating most of clothes to a charity. I can now live a life which is manageable, minimal and yet comfortable.